

MEDIA RELEASE

Senator the Hon Joe Ludwig

Cabinet Secretary Special Minister of State Senator for Queensland

9 April 2010

Call for nominations for the Button and Missen integrity awards

The Rudd Government has welcomed the call for the Australian public to nominate a federal Member or Senator for the inaugural Button and Missen parliamentary integrity awards.

The awards have been created by the Accountability Round Table, a nonpartisan group of academics, lawyers, former politicians, journalists and authors, to recognise parliamentarians whose behaviour reflects the best traditions of political service to the community.

"I would like to congratulate the Accountability Round Table for creating the first integrity awards for federal politicians," Cabinet Secretary, Senator Joe Ludwig, said.

"I encourage the community to support this important initiative and nominate a Member or Senator for the Button and Missen awards."

The awards are named in honour of former Senators, the late John Button and the late Alan Missen, in recognition on their outstanding commitment to the values, purposes and duties of federal parliament.

Members of either of the Houses in the current federal parliament are eligible for nomination.

Nominees will be judged on their performance over the term of the current parliamentary period. Full details of the nomination process and selection criteria can be found at <u>www.accountabilityrt.org</u>

The selection committee comprises Hon Tim Smith QC (Chair), Hon Jim Carlton AO, Lynn Allison, Assoc Prof Hon Ken Coghill, Prof Emeritus David Yencken AO, Prof Charles Sampford, Harry Evans and David Solomon.